What’s in my camera bag?


I’ve been asked that question and it’s quite common for photographers to discuss a lot about gear other than just photographs.

My camera bag changed a lot over the years and even recently I begun using a different one. My first bag was just a messenger bag I used for everything and at the time my camera was a point&shoot Canon Powershot A80. Then I started making movies and I acquired a Panasonic DVX100BE (wonderful video camera), so my “camera bag” changed to a Manhattan bag (for DSLR, but also a perfect fit for my DVX). Later I bought my first DSLR, a Canon 550D, and I decided to go for a more professional bag, so I got a Lowepro Fastpack 250. With a DSLR it’s useful to carry a laptop too, sometimes mandatory.

Even when I started using film and acquired pieces of junk that I had to repair (Diana F+, Smena 8M, Kiev 4M, Zorki 4) the backpack proved quite useful. Last June, when I went to Bretagne (Morlaix, Roscoff), I brought my backpack with my dad’s Nikon F65 (he has a D40 now) and my favorite Canon AE-1 (best bargain ever, 80 euros with a new 50mm f/1.8).

And then the Leica came. And changed my camera bag too.

Now I’m using a Nikon bag I got for free when I ordered my dad’s camera. It’s small, but enough for either an SLR with a fifty and an extra lens or:

  • My Leica M6 with Jupiter-8
  • 3-4 film rolls
  • a Cokin ND6 filter (square, not screwmount) that I keep in hand when needed
  • some personal stuff
  • an eventual second lens (most likely a 35mm)

This is what I keep in my camera bag. Light and minimal. That’s the essence of street photography.

My camera bags

From left to right: Nikon shoulder bag, Lowepro Fastpack 250, Manhattan SLR bag, Lowepro Stealth Reporter 650

And what’s in your camera bag?

2 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing, like this post a lot!

    August 7, 2012 at 08:57

  2. FYI, my actual bag is the Nikon SLR System Bag CF-EU05, cheap but waterproof 🙂

    August 10, 2012 at 00:34